Tuna Varieties & Species

From a scientific standpoint there are 15 species of tuna. Of these there are eight which belong to the Thunnus genus which are referred to as “true” tunas and are commercially targeted. But for culinary purposes, of those eight there are only four common names: Albacore, Bluefin, Bigeye, and Yellowfin Tuna. The whole list of eight includes: Albacore, Atlantic Bluefin, Pacific Bluefin, Southern Bluefin, Bigeye, Blackfin (never seen it on a menu or for sale), Longtail (same…never seen it), and Yellowfin Tunas. Follow the links below for detailed info by species.



Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Suggested Reading

Join Us!

See Our Tutorial Library!

Related Pages Index

Books by Chefs Resources!

Handcrafted Cards

Blog Archives